The Test

I was reading this blog and a really good question was posed. How did you find out you were pregnant? I thought it made for a good post rather than a comment. My boyfriend then, now fiance and I were trying to get pregnant and it was a little overwhelming as how fast it actually happened. I went off of the pill in the beginning of June and we half heartedly tried. He is in the navy and was sailing, in on the weekends so it really he was only around for one of my fertile days. It didnt’t happen that month and albeit I was disappointed I was slightly relieved I thought it would take anywhere from 6 months to a year. It didn’t stop me from taking a pregnancy test as my period was a few days late but I felt just like I  normally do when I get my period so I knew I wasn’t pregnant. In the next month we thought maybe we would consider alternate methods of birth control as we thought maybe we should wait as we were kind of a little freaked out out the thought of parenthood. I looked on the calender I knew the week to avoid relations to getting pregnant but who knew that my sex drive would in overdrive after being on the pill for 8 1/2 years. Needless to say we didn’t avoid relations that week and I am currently 27 weeks pregnant.

I think my breasts started hurting right away but I figured it was just PMS as I usually get that before my period. I was also very tired but we were on vacation 4 times zones away in a place that is more hot and humid than I am used to so I figured that was why I was tired. My period was 3 days late and I thought nothing of it as it was the month before. We flew home on a Sunday evening and before we left Nova Scotia I thought of getting a pregnancy test but I didn’t as I really didn’t think I was so I didn’t. When we got home our friends picked us up and my friend T and I went out  as a farewell for her as her and boyfriend moved clear across the country. (This happens when you make friends with people int he military, their wives, girlfriends etc.) So the Monday morning after (A holiday) I think it was day 36 I decided I should take a test as my period was quite late expecting it to be negative. So many times I have taken tests over the years, thinking I was pregnant or to be sure I wasn’t I honestly thought this wouldn’t be any different. (As my boyfriend would often be out at sea I wasn’t always diligent with taking my pill as the risk wasn’t there if he wasn’t.) So I drove to the drug store in my jet lagged state looking at the name-brand test versus the generic brand figured I should save myself $10 and went for the generic brand drove home and waited a few hours to take it as my urine was very diluted from the copious amounts of water I had drank that morning.

So I did my usual, peed in a cup and inserted test into the cup of urine and started to count to 20 as the generic brands like you to leave the test immersed in urine for 20 seconds versus 5 seconds vs. the brand names. By the time I was at 13 seconds the little blue “+” sign (can be viewed here pee-test.jpg) was there and I was calling my boyfriend in a shaky voice and he knew by my tone of voice that it was it positive. We were both in shock that it happened so soon I kept saying “Holy S***” in disbelief over and over again. He said he felt nauseous and needed to lie down. And that’s how it happened. I left the stick on the bathroom counter and went back to look at it throughout the day to stare at the little “+” sign as a reminder and to get used the idea of being mother. Now I have 13 weeks or so to go give or take. Which is still hard to believe and there is much to be done. Which will in the next few weeks.

I am back from my visit to my sisters happy to not have to be on a Greyhound bus for that long in the near future. I can now start my new role in life as a housewife. More on that later.

3 Comments

  1. Swistle said,

    January 10, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Wonderful story!

  2. yaly said,

    February 17, 2008 at 7:25 pm

    Your story is cool. You were so specific about it all. I am not looking to get pregnant, but it’s an issue my bf and I talk about all the time and your blog helps. It’s a good conversation starter. Thanks. Enjoy motherhood. ^_^

  3. missgirlbliss said,

    February 18, 2008 at 10:01 am

    I will try. I was inspired to write it by a question posted on another bloggers website.


Leave a Reply

