Pregnancy Myths and Old Wives Tales

It’s time to delurk on my blog so I have a question for you all. I am sure you have all heard a few myths and old wives tales when it comes to pregnancy and I am curious as to what you have heard? Leave me a comment to share yours. Here are a few that I have heard:

 – If your carrying low it’s a girl; high it’s a boy

– If you experience heartburn your baby will come out with full head of hair

– A few people have said if you gain weight in the butt/thigh area your having a boy (news to me)

– If the heartbeat is higher it’s a girl; lower it’s a boy (anything over 140 BPM according to one website I saw it’s a girl; lower than 140 BPM it’s a boy)

– This one I think is absurd. If you can eat broccoli no problem it’s a boy (my sister’s friend told me this as I was chowing down on veggies and dip. She said I was having a boy, because if I was having a girl there would be no way I could eat broccoli like that. (I am not sure if the fact that it was raw a had anything to do with it or not… but I think it’s a very strange myth to say the least)

So what have you heard? I am curious to know…

1 Comment

  1. Diana said,

    February 6, 2008 at 5:41 pm

    If you look ‘uglier’ during your pregnancy you’re having a girl.

    Apparently all your ‘looks’ are going to your daughter. I’m pregnant with my second boy so I wouldn’t know. But I’ve seen pretty pregnant women who gave birth to girls. So who knows where the heck that came from.


Leave a Reply

